Translation in European Languages

European language translator and interpreterLanguage diversity offers countless opportunities that stretch much further than the European borders.

While 43 languages are spoken on the European continent, the European Union only classifies 11 as official languages: German, French, English, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, Portuguese, Greek, Swedish, Danish and Finnish.

European Language Families

These 11 languages can be grouped into 4 families:

  • Latin (French, Italian, Spanish and Portuguese)
  • Germanic (German, English, Dutch and Swedish)
  • Hellenic (Greek)
  • Finno-Ugric (Finnish)

European Languages That We Translate: